Jessica Harrison Tattooed Ladies

My Grandma Morgan always had a collection of Royal Doulton figurines in her house.  At one time, they were all the rage! Not super interesting to me as a kid, as I probably was never allowed to touch them.  When she died, my mom kept a few to remember Grandma by, and as a lover of well-crafted things I started looking at them in my mom’s house.

I was reading one of my favourite blogs, The Jealous Curator, and saw a post she made about Scottish artist Jessica Harrison.  She has done several series of artwork in ceramic, including some more grotesque (and I mean this in the best way) figures that have been decapitated, hearts pulled out, boiled by acid and disemboweled.  They’re beautiful, but I am really liking her hand-painted figurines that are heavily tattooed ladies.  I know a lot of tattooed ladies in my life, and I think not only are they beautiful, but a nice way to represent a different kind of beauty that I see in my friends! I wish I could buy one, but I’m pretty sure they sell for around 1200 pounds. A girl can dream, though, can’t she?

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

