Type Books

Now, for the first time in my life, it appears that this blog is being read by other people than just those who know me in real life. It is, then, necessary to share with you all a deep, intimate secret.

I love books.

Wait, that’s not really a secret at all, is it? It’s more like one of those immutable laws of the universe: Morgan loves books. Now I know, for all of those who have met me, gone with me to a bookstore or seen my apartment it appears to be indisputable. Perhaps you’ve seen the tiny flash of anxiety in my eyes (which can’t really be helped) as I lend you a book. (In my defense, I’m way more laid back about that than I used to be). I keep my books in great condition, because I love them.

I went to Toronto for the first time this last summer (I have several good friends out there), and the first thing I wanted to do? Nerdishly enough, I wanted to see the bookstore that masterminded this video. I love the stop motion, the newly-composed song, the colours, the creativity, and thought that seeing this place in person would be the bees knees.

And it was! I love Type Books! It’s located on Queen Street W, in what I like to refer to as the “cool little shopping district.” It had beautiful displays, quirky signs, and had a great offering of all sorts of things you wouldn’t necessarily find at a big box bookstore (and don’t get me wrong, I LOVE me some Chapters). I saw a big, beautiful art book on the art of tree house photography (it must have weighed 15 pounds), books by local authors, rare magazines, cycling accessories, and a picture book of screen captures of every “book” read on The Simpsons. I was in heaven and went back at least twice more in the week I was there. It was just the neatest bookstore. I love independent bookshops. Enjoy the video, and if you’re ever in Toronto, promise me you’ll stop by.

Leave a Reply

