Dream Vacation Spot #1: Salar de Uyuni

I spend a lot of time dreaming about travel.  I would love to plan a vacation to some far-flung corner of this great blue sphere, but as soon as I start thinking about what it will cost, and the realities of how much I can save at a time, and the logistics of travelling alone, I freak out a little bit inside.  However, from the safety of my blog, I can definitely share with you places I would like to go were I not constrained by the adult problems of money and time.

First up: the salt flats of Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia.  Just north of 10,000 square kilometres, it is exquisitely flat, covered by a few metres of salt crust (so walking barefoot with cuts on your feet is probably a bad idea), contains between 50 and 70% of the world’s lithium, and is the breeding ground for several types of pink flamingo.  Need I say more? I’m intrigued.  Also, on clear days, it looks like a gigantic mirror.  I scoured the internet for good photos, and I just keep getting blown away.  My friend Gloria would like me to come visit her in Uruguay, so perhaps I could stop in Bolivia on the way down?

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

